Bruce Springsteen – 1975-12-02 – Music Hall, Boston, MA (Master Tape)

Spread the love

Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band – December 2, 1975 – New Master Tape

JEMS has just released a new master tape from the Born To Run tour:

Date: 1975-12-02 (December 2, 1975)
Location: Music Hall, Boston, MA

Steve Hopkins master via JEMS

Taping Gear: Sony ECM-99A > Sony TC-152SD (recorded on two Maxell UD 90-minute tapes, Dolby B encode) Fourth Row Center

JEMS 2011 transfer: SH master cassette > Nakamichi CR-7A (Dolby B decode) > Sound Devices USBPre2 (24/96) > Peak 6.0 with isotope Ozone > .wav (24/96) > resample via iZotope MBIT+ to .wav (16/44) > FLAC

01 Thunder Road
02 Tenth Avenue Freeze-out
03 Spirit in the Night
04 Lost in the Flood
05 She’s the One
06 Born to Run
07 The E Street Shuffle (slight cut)
08 Growin’ Up
09 It’s Hard to Be a Saint in the City
10 Backstreets
11 Kitty’s Back
12 Jungleland
13 Rosalita
14 Santa Claus Is Comin’ to Town
15 Detroit Medley
16 Sandy
17 Party lights
18 Quarter to Three

Release Notes:

“JEMS is proud to partner once again with Boston taper Steve Hopkins to
release some of the essential Springsteen recordings he made between
1974 and 1977. Steve recorded Springsteen a total of nine times and he
has previously tormented three of those shows from his masters. Late
last year, JEMS released in the first of Steve’s remaining Bruce
masters, Providence, July 20, 1975.

This first of two nights at the Boston Music Hall finds Bruce and the
band newly returned from their brief European tour that included the
now legendary shows at the Hammersmith Odeon in London. Bruce talks
about the trip in some detail during this outstanding show that is
packed with highlights. It opens with the slow “Thunder Road” that
features just Roy and Bruce, and cruises through 17 other songs
including “Lost in the Flood,” the first known recorded performance of
“Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town” and an ultra rare cover of Claudine
Clark’s 1962 hit “Party Lights.” For Hopkins though, the personal
highlight was “the epic, 18-minute ‘Kitty’s Back’ both this night and
the following.” Hard to argue with that.

As it was the first show back in the states after three weeks away,
the crowd is a mix of Boston fans and others who drove up from NY/NJ.
As a result, there’s plenty of audience response and chatter (I
especially like the guy who sarcastically tells the folks in front of
him “congratulations for standing up”), but nothing that detracts from
Hopkins’ excellent and complete recording, save for a short tape flip
inside “The E Street Shuffle.” Samples provided.

We hope you enjoy this second release from the Hopkins masters.”

See more details about this gig from Brucebase Wiki

Visit Visit, and get your 5 dollar discount from your first your order by using this coupon YUY952 – highly recommends. 🙂

Spread the love

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *